ULA Candidates

In the general election, the ULA will mount a major challenge to Fianna Fail, Fine Gael and Labour who back the proposed austerity measures in the Budget and in the Four Year Plan and also to Sinn Fein who are prepared to prop them up in a coalition government. We expect to run about 20 candidates

Candidates who have already been agreed include Cllr Mick Barry (Cork North Central), Cllr Richard Boyd-Barrett (Dun Laoghaire), Cllr Joan Collins (Dublin South Central), Joe Higgins MEP (Dublin West), Cllr Clare Daly (Dublin North), Cllr Seamus Healy (South Tipperary and West Waterford), Cllr Gino Kenny (Dublin Mid West), Seamus O’Brien(Wexford), Mick Murphy (Dublin South West), Cian Prendiville (Limerick City), John Lyons (Dublin North Central), Annette Mooney (Dublin South East), Conor MacLiam (Carlow/Kilkenny), Brian Greene (Dublin North East), Anne Foley (Cork North West), Rob Connolly (Dublin Mid West), Nicola Curry (Dublin South), Ray Fitzpatrick (Laois/Offaly), Andy Keegan (Dublin North West), Declan Bree (Sligo/North Leitrim), Anne Foley (Cork North West), Rob Connolly (Dublin Mid West), Nicola Curry (Dublin South).

Joe Higgins (MEP) and Cllr Seamus Healy are former Dail deputies

Further candidates who adhere to the policy programme will be agreed shortly

The Alliance expects to secure the election of a number of deputies and to form a coherent group in the next Dail.